top of page
  • Writer's pictureShawna Rundstrom

Indescribable

Updated: Aug 19, 2020

By Darcy Fluitt


Take a look at what kids are talking about this month…

Elementary kids are discovering more about Creativity during the month of August. We define Creativity as imagining what you could do because you are made in God’s image.

We kicked off this series in Genesis 1-2:3, as we helped kids discover something about the beginning of the universe. Looking around at creation, one can’t help but notice God’s creativity. From nothing, God spoke the universe into existence. No detail left out, creation gives us the brilliant creativity of a God who is big enough to create the world and personal enough to love us no matter what.

Here is a fun game Shawna and I played with the kids on our Sunday zoom calls. Your family can play it, too. It will highlight your own creative ideas and the wonder of God’s creation.

Begin simple…ask everyone to name a color they see in nature.

Then ask participants to name a part of creation that is…

· bigger than a car

· smaller than a dime

· makes a sound

· slimy

· fuzzy

· squishy

· hot

Kids gave us a variety of creative responses, but I think my favorite was from a first grader. When asked to name something smaller than a dime, she said, “a raindrop!” Shawna and I both said, “Awww!”

In the next few weeks, we hope kids will see that no matter how they’re gifted, God can use their gifts for good. Ephesians 2: 10 tells us, “We are God’s creation. He created us to belong to Christ Jesus. Now we can do good works. Long ago God prepared these works for us to do.” (NIrV).

I love this verse. It kind of gives me goosebumps thinking that God, knowing us better than we know ourselves, has good works that He has prepared personally for each one of us to do. This verse is especially meaningful because I discovered what God had prepared for me when I told my first Bible story to a group of kids. After I was done, I thought, “This is what God put me on earth to do.” I was almost 50-years-old!

If you are looking for other resources to point out God’s amazing creativity to your kids, check out…

Chris Tomlin’s Indescribable



Shawna and I would love to see a few more faces on our Sunday morning zoom calls. We play some fun games, share the Bible story and apply it to our lives. Kids also share stories. Last week a second grader asked if we could stay late after our prayer time so she could share her list of famous leaders who help other. It’s heartwarming to know that kids are able to stay connected to each other during these difficult times. If you need the link to our Zoom calls, email Shawna at shawna@fpcsantarosa.org

See you soon on Zoom,

Darcy

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page