top of page
  • Writer's picturePastor Emily

Surrendering ~ Every Piece of Myself ~Heart, Mind, Body, and Soul

By Colleen Soldate

Director of Caring Ministries



Feet up in the air and reclined in a nice comfortable chair, I became absorbed in an interesting article. It reported how important it is for our mood and overall health to develop an active lifestyle that keeps us moving regularly throughout the day. The article conveyed how important it is to get up and move every couple of hours, even if you have a daily exercise routine.


The words are in bold, “Movement matters – be creative and make time to improve your mental and physical health ~ so walk, stand, pace, exercise, play, and stroll on top of your regular exercise routine. It is an investment into yourself so that you can live more fully for God.” The writer challenges the reader to physically move throughout the day.

On the best of days, it can be challenging to become motived to be physically active, especially given our current pandemic environment. But the way I see it, time is on our side and any form of exercise will benefit our bodies. So, where do you go to be inspired to keep fit?

One of life’s lessons made me aware that understanding something and putting it into motion are two different things. For instance, my head knowledge grasps that going for a walk strengthens my muscles. But when it’s cold and rainy,… my motivation points in the direction of curling up in front of the fireplace with a good book.


On the best of days, it can be challenging to become motivated to be physically active, especially given our current pandemic environment. But

the way I see it, time is on our side and any form of exercise will benefit our bodies. So, where do we go to be inspired and keep fit?


When I am not at my strongest, I draw closer to God and His Word. Matthew 28:20 reminds me, “God is always with me” and Philippians 4:13 assures me “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” I have found comfort in God’s promises throughout this past year’s challenging moments. Even when it’s cold and rainy.


Trusting God is with me always and believing I can do all through Christ, moving every couple of hours in a day should be a piece of cake. When I view exercise as an act of worship, then it becomes personal. It becomes a matter of shifting my lack of motivation to surrendering every piece of myself—heart, mind, body, and soul into His loving hands. I like to think I glorify God by moving this body of mine which He created. I take seriously the fact that Scripture says my body houses the Holy Spirit!

I’m convinced that movement matters!


No matter how we stay fit, we must find ways to be creative and make time to improve our mental, spiritual, and physical health. So, in addition to a regular exercise routine — walk, stand, pace, play, or stroll so you can live more fully for God.

I would be glad to share resources with you; such as: “Everyday Guide to Exercise & Physical Activity;” “Workout to Go;” and “Everyday Exercises” (CD). Contact me at 328-5465 or Colleen@fpcsantarosa.org.


 

Here is a free 20 minute standing exercise video for Older Adults.

Here is a free 15 minute seated exercise routine for Older Adults.


Here is a free 20 minute low impact exercise routine that can also be done seated for folks with lower mobility.

And here is a 7-minute standing workout routine.


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page