top of page
  • Writer's picturePastor Emily

Palm Sunday: At the Heart of Everything

Today's reflection comes from Colleen Soldate, Director of Caring Ministries:


Yesterday, I was surprised to receive a letter in the mail from my next to oldest sister, Debbie. Enclosed was a photo of our family all adorned in our Easter outfits when we were kids. It brought back so many happy memories. It happened every year, like clockwork. Mom and Dad would bring us to Rosenburg’s department store on 4th Street to pick out our Easter ensembles. The girls picked out frilly dresses, lace-trimmed socks, white gloves, a lightweight coat, hat and a fashionable purse to match. My brothers, Bobby and Jimmy, didn’t seem to enjoy shopping as much. Who could blame them? After all, what’s to be excited about buying a suit, white shirt, tie, and black shoes? They were more interested to head down the street with Dad to Burlington’s Bakery for a cookie or Kress department store for an ice cream soda. With all that is going on around us and not being able to worship together, it surprised to me that Palm Sunday is drawing near, followed by Holy Week. I will miss seeing the palm branches which decorate our sanctuary this Sunday; the vibration of Peter Shell’s voice reading Scripture on Mandy Thursday; and the powerful feeling of hope I experience when Paddy Coreris relites the Christ candle after we have sat in darkness commemorating Jesus’ death on the cross. I can’t recall ever missing a Good Friday worship service. It will be hard to miss this year’s observance of Jesus suffering and death for our forgiveness and salvation. There will be no egg hunt during or following Sunday School, no smiles, no hugs, no exchange of the traditional Easter greeting: “He is risen, He is risen indeed,” and no triumphant singing of the Hallelujah Chorus! I remember my parents telling us of the significance of Palm Sunday – how it is the final Sunday of Lent and the start of Holy week, which commemorates Jesus coming to Jerusalem. As a child I used to giggle when Daddy told us how Jesus road a colt into Jerusalem. I wondered why Jesus chose a donkey and not a horse. Dad explained that it represented his coming in humility and peace rather than as a symbol of power or war. I came to understand that the townspeople threw branches and cloths in front of Jesus to pay him homage and show their respect. I am excited Palm Sunday is here. Celebrating Jesus’ arrival into Jerusalem holds such meaningful memories for me, but it also is at the heart of everything I believe. There are sad and sorrowful moments to the story I embrace as the demonstration of God’s love and amazing rescue of us. I invite you to join me in preparing our hearts to share the agony of Jesus passion and the joy of his resurrection. Although we will not be together in person, we can join together in worship online this Palm Sunday, Good Friday, and Easter. Until we are all together again, blessings, Colleen


94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page