top of page
  • Writer's pictureShawna Rundstrom

God is Light

Updated: Aug 19, 2020

I recently read about how important it is to get out into the sunlight in the morning. It helps the body to produce more serotonin which helps to energize us, boost our mood and help us to be calm, and focused. With working from home and not having a lot of places I need to be on a regular basis, I admit that most days I don’t get out of the house until the afternoon. When I do get out in the morning for a walk or bike ride, I notice how much better I feel throughout the day. This got me thinking about how the Bible talks about God being light and how spending time with God also energizes and calms us. One of my favorite calming things to do is listen to worship music as I’m doing household chores. Worshiping God through song brings calm and peace to my spirit.

When I think of God’s light, I also think of Hope. The Bible says “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.” Proverbs 13:12

There is a lot of darkness in our world and when we focus on problems and bad things that are happening it can be easy for our hope to be deferred. But we don’t have to stay in a place of no hope. Sometimes it is a process, but we can step out of darkness and into the light, because we have hope in Jesus! So, I encourage you to step into the light and find hope by spending time with God.

Here is a song that talks about God’s light that encourages me.





This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 1 John 1:5

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page