top of page
  • Writer's picturePastor Emily

Get Away with God's Word

By Colleen Soldate, Director of Caring Ministries.


Engaged in the rhythmic stroke of dusting the piano, the phone rings. Thrilled to hear our son’s voice, the world stands still for a moment. After catching up and sharing the goings-on in each of our lives, we discuss the effects of the pandemic. Paul reports he doesn’t feel it would be safe for us if he and his fiancée Dilara to make their semi-annual trip from the East Coast to spend the summer with us. I could hear the disappointment in his voice as he further offered that they may not be able to come at Christmas either, given travel restrictions. Even though I understand completely and agree entirely, the motherly impulse inside me was silently shouting….NO!

After saying goodbye, I thought, “With all the advanced technology, why haven’t the great scientists, come up with the technology to beam us to places like they did on Star Trek?” After all, SpaceX CEO Elon Musk revealed Yusaku Maezawa, a Japanese billionaire and founder of Zozotown, will be the first private customer to ride around the Moon in 2023.


Somewhat dismayed, my focus returned to dusting. My thoughts wandered and settled on the possibilities of traveling. After months of “sheltering in place,” I would be thrilled to hop in my car and head over to Copperfield’s Book Store in Montgomery Village. The strong desire to escape the reality of this pandemic, if only for a short while, left me longing for yesterday. Where we could go anywhere, anytime, for any reason.

Then suddenly, I was no longer in my living room dusting but was virtually standing inside the bookstore being greeted by friendly faces and huge smiles. The sweet detectable aromas of coffee drew me further and further into the bookstore. Aisle by aisle, book by book summoned me as if they had voices calling out to me, “Read me, Read me.” One colorful book sparked my curiosity. I plucked it off the shelf and thumbed through it. I could almost feel the clean, crisp pages as any thoughts of the pandemic faded away! To me, the first pages of a good book are like stepping into undiscovered territory, like being on top of a mountain ridge overlooking an unexplored valley. With book and a cup of herbal tea in hand, I opted for a corner table and started a new journey.


The book I chose was titled Bird Watching in Sonoma County by Gordon Bolander. I was surprised to learn that Sonoma County offers some of the best birding in the region, thanks to its diverse landscapes and location on the Pacific Flyway. Bolander reports that the sightings are remarkably diverse, especially during migration. You may see geese, egrets, herons, hawks, woodpeckers, owls, jays, warblers, sparrows, and other birds while enjoying a walk around Spring Lake. He further states, that the Laguna de Santa Rosa Trail near Sebastopol is a birding hot spot, due to the unique and complex habitat of Sonoma County’s largest freshwater wetland. More than 200 species of birds are known to reside in, feed or rest in the Laguna. Within our community we have so many opportunities to experience God’s creation. I must admit that my days are full and do not get out as often as I would like to be still with nature. Totally captivated by these delicate creatures, I recall the fundamental truths revealed about God in the opening lines and chapters of Genesis. Pondering on God’s character, attributes, and promises, I begin to understand my purpose.

As if beamed instantly back to my living room, I find myself reflecting of where I am today – living in a world full of uncertainty. My Bible brings me GREAT comfort and reminds me of who God is, how much He loves me and the plans He has for me. I am very much aware that I have no control over my worries and concerns, but I do have control over how I approach them. And that is by turning ALL of them over to God. Another favorite scripture is Psalms 46:1 “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

Ever since I was a child, I found that I could be anything, travel anywhere and meet anyone by reading a book. There is no limit to the possibilities where books are concerned. They are like a classical movie. One that I could watch, over and over again, never growing tired of watching. A good book is the same, I can read it repeatedly and then when done, I place it back on the bookshelf for another day’s read. What better book is there, if not God’s Word? It is action packed and full of many adventures just waiting to be discovered. In this challenging season I am discovering new skills, learning new ways of shopping, and practicing creative way to communicate in reaching out to my community. Adventures await each of us, allow yourself the time to discover the impossible through reading and getting to know your community. If only through a book. May the inspirations that sparks your interest begin with God’s Word.

Until we are together again,

Colleen

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page