top of page
  • Colleen

Gardening & Community in God's Creation

Whenever I am processing through things that weigh heavily on my mind, my favorite place to be is in the yard. The level of thought that needs to be processed determines how much activity I will engage in. If I am highly troubled there is no limit to what I might tackle.


After a week of unprecedented events with an uncertain future, I was in much need of being in my yard doing what I enjoy…pounding the ground. I planted 3 types of tomatoes, green, red and yellow red and green peppers; swiss chard; cucumbers; and sunflowers seeds. When I was just about done a neighbor, Luke, who is the green thumb of the neighborhood gave me many strawberry plants. I now have a strawberry patch and can’t wait to eat fresh strawberries out of the garden.


As Jerry and I were busy planting vegetables in the front yard, our dear neighbors, Jean and Vernal, Pat and Lorraine, Amelio and Rosa all came out to visit. All staying in their yards and yelling their best wishes for one another. Ben, our newest neighbor, strolled by with his son, Wyatt and daughter, June on their 2-wheeled vehicles. Kiddie corner to our house, Gene who was working on his boat joined in the neighborhood gathering. It was so nice to be together, even if it was from afar.


This is what community looks like, loving one another and caring for each other, offering assistance and checking in with one another. John 15:12, Jesus commands us to “love one another, as I have loved you.” The idea of community comes from the sense of responsibility we have for each other. In the Bible, God encourages us to take care of one another while following the word of the Lord. Especially during this season, we must remember the importance of maintaining the connection with each other and get outside and enjoy God’s creation.




110 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page