top of page
  • Writer's pictureShawna Rundstrom

Clinging to the Rock

Updated: Mar 26, 2020

When I was growing up my mom was somewhat of a collector, she had an eye for certain vintage items and when she found just what she was looking for she would display it in our home as décor. One such item she found was a picture that I believe she got out of a book. I did a little research on the internet and it sounds like it was a painting called “Rock of Ages” by Johannes Oertel. The picture was of a woman in the middle of the ocean surrounded by a heavy storm, she was clinging to a huge stone cross and her hand was on an opened Bible. I remember my mom telling me that she loved this picture because of the way the woman clings to the cross while trouble surrounds her. She loved it so much that she had it blown up, placed it in a vintage rattan frame, and hung it in the living room. Although we don’t have this picture anymore, it is a picture that is engrained in my mind. As an adult I understand it so much more. No matter how bad the storm, that solid rock is not going to move. As our world walks through this uncertain time, I envision myself as that woman, clinging to the rock no matter the circumstances around me. It also reminds me to keep my Bible open, so that I don’t forget the promises of hope and that this is not the end of the story.





122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page