top of page
  • diane8655

Being Enough

by Diane Cretin





I am enthralled with the book The Boy, the mole, the fox and the Horse by Charlie Mackesy.


As the author writes, This book is for everyone, whether you are eighty or eight. It is visually stunning with heartfelt messages. My attention was caught by this page as I read it again:







In case you have trouble reading this font, it says:

“What’s your best discovery? asked the mole

“That I’m enough as I am” said the boy.







Let that run through your brain a few times. Say it to yourself - I’m enough as I am.

How often do you say that to yourself? Ever? Do you believe it? You should.


The Bible tells us in Psalm 139:13-14

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother's womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.


We also read in Genesis 1:27

So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.


Being created in God’s image should tell us we are enough. Why do we doubt that? Why don't we truly believe that we are a wonderful creation of God's? Perhaps because someone has treated us poorly and we rationalized it by saying we deserved it. Perhaps because we tend to compare ourselves to others. As humans, we tend to be better at negative self-talk than positive self-talk. That, however, does not make it real.


Here are two other pages from the book. The second one is a colorized version the author did of the book page.




These pages read:

"So you know all of me?" asked the boy

"Yes" said the horse.

"And you still love me?"

"We love you all the more"


"Sometimes I think you believe in me more than I do." said the boy

"You'll catch up" said the horse


The horse reminds me of God - a being who knows everything about us yet believes in us fully, more than we do ourselves. How blessed we are to be loved and believed in like this.


I found these quotes to be interesting and food for thought:


We are all a little broken. But last time I checked, broken crayons still color the same. – Trent Shelton


You have been criticizing yourself for years, and it hasn’t worked. Try approving of yourself and see what happens. – Louise L. Hay


It doesn’t matter who you used to be; what matters is who you decide to be today. You are not your mistakes. You are not your mishaps. You are not your past. You are not your wounds. You can decide differently today and at every moment. Remember that. You are offered a new opportunity with each breath to think, decide, choose and act differently – in a way that supports you in being all that you are capable of being. You are not less than. You are enough. – Brittany Josephina


You are enough not because you did or said or thought or bought or became or created something special, but because you always were. – Marisa Peer


Believing that you’re enough is what gives you the courage to be authentic, vulnerable and imperfect. – Brene Brown


I leave you with this parting thought from one of the last pages in the book:


"Always remember you matter, You're important and you are loved, and you bring to this world things no one else can."


Continued blessings,

Diane


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page