top of page
  • Writer's picturePastor Emily

Behind the Scenes Notes on Sunday's Sermon on 1 Tim 2:8-15

Today I share a deeper perspective on preparing for that sermon "Appropriate, Quiet, and Submissive?"


If you want to read my post on the biblical languages that I mention in the video, go here (just a note...I misspoke in today's video. Genesis is written in Hebrew, not Greek. Which... duh...but it was very early when I recorded!).


If you want to do some reading yourself on women in ancient Christianity and how their stories were erased, here's a good article from a professor at Harvard.


And if you want to read the scholarship for yourself on Paul's strategy of accommodation, here's the journal article that I used in my sermon research called "The Redeemer in an 'Irredeemable Text'" by Wim C. Vermeer.


45 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page